top of page
text-1691440166436.png
“Are you ready for the unexpected?
The extraordinary? The daring?”
Roll up, roll up, the Scareground is in town!

Twelve-year-old Nancy Crumpet lives above a bakery and her life is a delightful mix of flour, salt, and love. Yet her mind is brimming with questions no one can answer: Why did her birth parents disappear? Why can she speak with the sky? And why must she keep her mysterious birthmark hidden?

Everything is about to change when the Scareground returns to Greenwich. Nancy is convinced it holds the answers to her parents’ disappearance. Nancy and her best friend Arthur Green meet the fair’s spooky owner, Skelter, and discover a world full of dark magic and mystery. Nancy must confront her greatest fears to get to the truth. But is she ready for all the secrets the Scareground will reveal?

Out Now!
Screenshot 2023-09-08 085233.png
Some lovely reviews (click for a link to Goodreads!)

This is a huge 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 children's book that should have a place on every classroom bookshelf and could lend itself as an inspiration to may project-based activities.

*Deliciously spooky MG novel that I would describe as Rooftoppers meets The Night Circus. 
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Exciting mysterious story to foster the love of reading. Great for a daily read and would make a brilliant English reading unit. 
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

As for what I thought about the book itself, the first thing I have to say is that the atmosphere is incredible! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


Angela Kecojevic has a talent for creating tension and intrigue. Even the ending after everything is wrapped up is a great set-up for book two with impending sky pirates dropping anchor to steal Nancy’s secrets. I can’t wait! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

This is the perfect scary season reading! Set in Victorian London, this book has just the right mix of magic and menace. This spine-tingling middle-grade novel is also a spooky delight for older readers. 🌟🌟🌟🌟



*Easily one of the most captivating children's books I've read all year! An incredible story with unforgettable characters, a spine-tingling plot and all the fun of the fair

I definitely recommend Scareground to all children. It’s  one of the best fantasy novels to escape to, with its exciting magical scenes that happen in every chapter.
Angela Kecojevic has the most incredible imagination with finding magical words describing absolutely everything.
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

*I absolutely LOVED Scareground! It's a spooky and atmospheric read, with brilliantly realised characters, believable friendships and lots of adventure! The perfect middle-grade read for autumn!


*What a daring book!

This is an exciting and mysterious adventure story with spine-tingling moments. Perfect for fans of R L Stine's Goosebumps series, and adventurous mysteries like Rooftoppers by K Rundell. 
🌟🌟🌟🌟

*A marvellous adventure - with mystery and illusion. Well, is it illusion, perhaps it's actually magic? Suspense and magic, with a dash of fear! Are you ready to be scared? Then find your ticket and get prepared to be scared!

* The world building is great & I genuinely care about your characters!
Screenshot 2023-08-05 100148.png

Gemma Lawrence recording Scareground for Little Acorns audio

The Bookseller 2023

F7RLub6XwAA3I4-_edited.jpg
51pPnW0MjCL._SY291_BO1,204,203,200_QL40_ML2_.jpg
th (7).jpg
fern.jpg
download.jfif
9780198496687_edited.jpg
plyOMUnk (2).jpg
Oxford Reading Tree (OUP)

Out with OUP Primary March 2024

bottom of page